Vettel Splits Mercedes AMG In Third F1 Practice Session In Melbourne

In F1, Social News by Keith JohnstonLeave a Comment

Share this Post

Once again Mercedes AMG were fastest in the third practice session in Melbourne with Hamilton achieving a time of 1:27.867. However Vettel did manage to split them today by coming second followed by Rosberg in third, Bottas in fourth and Massa in fifth.

Melbourne F1 Practice SessionAfter not getting out during yesterday afternoon’s second practice due to an engine change, Ricciardo did manage to get out today much to the delight of the Aussie crowds however he soon had problems again with his engine stopping at the end of the pit lane. It’s not been a good weekend so far for the Red Bull team with Kvyat’s engine also having problems during the session.

After McLaren Honda said last night that ‘there is more to come tomorrow’ they didn’t deliver only managing 16th and 17th in this afternoons session.

The two Manor cars did not run, and are now unlikely to take any part in this weekend.

Sauber also got out again after a court backed Van der Garde’s claim he had a valid contract and risked having its assets seized and team principal Monisha Kaltenborn arrested. Van der Garde said he had given up his rights “with respect to the interests of motorsport and F1 in particular”. Sauber will now race this weekend with Marcus Ericsson and Felipe Nasr.

F1 Australian Grand Prix Thrid Practice Results

1. Lewis Hamilton GBR Mercedes-Mercedes 1m 27.867s
2. Sebastian Vettel GER Ferrari-Ferrari 1m 28.563s
3. Nico Rosberg GER Mercedes-Mercedes 1m 28.821s
4. Valtteri Bottas FIN Williams-Mercedes 1m 28.912s
5. Felipe Massa BRZ Williams-Mercedes 1m 28.988s
6. Kimi Raikkonen FIN Ferrari-Ferrari 1m 29.017s
7. Romain Grosjean FRA Lotus-Mercedes 1m 29.481s
8. Pastor Maldonado VEN Lotus-Mercedes 1m 29.864s
9. Carlos Sainz Jr ESP Toro Rosso-Renault 1m 29.869s
10. Felipe Nasr BRZ Sauber-Ferrari 1m 29.934s
11. Max Verstappen NED Toro Rosso-Renault 1m 29.952s
12. Marcus Ericsson SWE Sauber-Ferrari 1m 30.613s
13. Nico Hulkenberg GER Force India-Mercedes 1m 30.741s
14. Sergio Perez MEX Force India-Mercedes 1m 30.993s
15. Daniel Ricciardo AUS Red Bull-Renault 1m 31.185s
16. Kevin Magnussen DEN McLaren-Honda 1m 31.391s
17. Jenson Button GBR McLaren-Honda 1m 31.666s
18. Daniil Kvyat RUS Red Bull-Renault 1m 32.830s
19. Will Stevens GBR Manor Marussia-Ferrari no time
20. Roberto Merhi ESP Manor Marussia-Ferrari no time

Share this Post

Leave a Comment